Words Of Wisdom; Young Grasshoppa!

Hey, I am new to fly tying and am looking for all sorts of information, tips, and guidence that I can collect and learn from. I would greatly appreciate recipes for begginers; and or sources of reffrence and resourses. Is there any thoughts and ideas of what sorts of tools and brands; new or used that I should be aware of before investing in?

Here is a picture of the very first fly I tied. I do not have a vise or a whip finisher!! ... I dont know what it is supposed to replicate, I just tied and let my hands and eyes do the work. As for materiels I used orange grizzly hackle, peacock hurl, olive mallard flank, olive hurl of some sort for the head! ;) I really dont know for sure my hands just grabbed feathers. And I created. Yeah I tied with floss and used a size four Mustad and tied out of order... I could not wait I used what I had!! =) LOL

post-2083-1319174899_thumb.jpg

Hey, I am new to fly tying and am looking for all sorts of information, tips, and guidence that I can collect and learn from. I would greatly appreciate recipes for begginers; and or sources of reffrence and resourses. Is there any thoughts and ideas of what sorts of tools and brands; new or used that I should be aware of before investing in?

Here is a picture of the very first fly I tied. I do not have a vise or a whip finisher!! ... I dont know what it is supposed to replicate, I just tied and let my hands and eyes do the work. As for materiels I used orange grizzly hackle, peacock hurl, olive mallard flank, olive hurl of some sort for the head! ;) I really dont know for sure my hands just grabbed feathers. And I created. Yeah I tied with floss and used a size four Mustad and tied out of order... I could not wait I used what I had!! =) LOL

post-2083-1319174899_thumb.jpg