Tippet

mackpup

OK, I am extremely new to flyfishing so no giving me heck.....haha

I got a fly rod for christmas and i am ready to give it hell. The problem I have is I got the guy from the local tackle shop to spool my reel and what he put on is contridicting to what I am reading. Can someone let me know if this is correct. its a 6 wt 9 foot temple fork rod and reel, he put on 50 yards of backing, 90 yards of floating line, a 9 foot 4x tapered leader and then tied on 3 feet of 4x tippet. The real question is, should he have put on the extra 3 feet of tippet. I will be fishing the local edmonton pothole lakes for rainbows, does this all sound right?

OK, I am extremely new to flyfishing so no giving me heck.....haha

I got a fly rod for christmas and i am ready to give it hell. The problem I have is I got the guy from the local tackle shop to spool my reel and what he put on is contridicting to what I am reading. Can someone let me know if this is correct. its a 6 wt 9 foot temple fork rod and reel, he put on 50 yards of backing, 90 yards of floating line, a 9 foot 4x tapered leader and then tied on 3 feet of 4x tippet. The real question is, should he have put on the extra 3 feet of tippet. I will be fishing the local edmonton pothole lakes for rainbows, does this all sound right?

Yep - sounds right - assuming it's a bugger or leech you're fishing. You'll want a dozen more feet of tippet if you're fishing deep chironomids. :)

The 3 feet of tippet is so that you aren't cutting 4" of your leader off every fly change. Tippet is cheap - leaders aren't. :)

Mackpup:

And now for the sales pitch.

Since you're "extremenly new to fly fishing", you are fortunate to have found a great resource.

The Northern Lights Fly Tyers and Fishers is a real boon to beginners.

We do alot of teaching and not just of fly tying.

Check out our main web page and navigate to the newsletter.